An Interview With Appen Rater Jeppe Sør. of Denmark

Appen proudly offers remote jobs for people worldwide, allowing people to have more flexibility in their daily lives. Recently, we spoke to a 29-year-old living Roskilde, Denmark, who has been an Appen freelancer for almost a year. Jeppe sheds some light on what it’s like to work for Appen and how he manages his schedule.

Tell us about yourself. Where are you from? What are your hobbies?

I am currently living in my hometown of Roskilde, Denmark, and enjoying it. I’ve moved around a little, so I’ve had to familiarize myself with new people and environments. Although this has its challenges, I’ve enjoyed the experiences I’ve had in these places. I hope I will be able to continue to enjoy many new places and the experiences that come with them.

What prompted you to look for remote work? 

I am currently a university student working on my master’s thesis while trying to balance a part-time fixed schedule job, so I was drawn to the idea of working from home and having flexible hours, which Appen offers.

How did you find out about Appen? What was your first impression?

I first learned about Appen on an online school Facebook page for exchange and international students. One day someone posted an ad about a job opportunity for English speakers and other languages. I was looking for something new and different from my old part-time job, so I decided to explore the opportunity. I’m glad I did. My first impression was skepticism, in the way you feel when something is too good to be true. But I did some research and decided this was an opportunity I should take advantage of.

What has surprised you most about working for Appen?

The efficient payroll! I was prepared to deal with bank and account issues (along with me working internationally making it too complex) but there were no issues with the transfers. Appen made it easy.

What is a typical day like for you? How do you find your work/life balance?

I start my day by drinking a cup of coffee and turning on the computer. Then I’ll check and see if there are any tasks to be completed and if there are — lately there has been plenty of work — I will normally aim for two hours in the morning. After that I will make some lunch, have a break or whatever, then work on my writing and research for my master’s thesis. That would be an example of a typical day, but the best part is that things change, life happens, friends visit.  Sometimes you want to enjoy the sun, and then you adjust your work schedule as needed. Because of my commitment to my master’s thesis, my job would have to take second priority, which is not an easy thing to do with a more traditional job. With Appen, I can just commit the time that I need to, when I need to.

What do you find most rewarding about the job?

The most rewarding thing that I get from my work is the new knowledge that I get randomly exposed to. It can be fascinating.

What advice do you have for prospective Appen candidates?

Be prepared for the unusual nature of the work. Things can change from week to week, like the workload and guidelines.   Want to join Jeppe and a community of other freelancers who enjoy the freedom and flexibility of remote work? Explore our remote jobs today.
Confidence to Deploy AI with World-Class Training Data
Website for deploying AI with world class training data